2009-10 Alumni Awards and Announcements


Robert E. Nagy, BSChE ‘65, retired in 2009 from Collins Consulting, Inc. (Little Rock, AR), where he held the position of VP Manufacturing Consulting (Strategic Planning and Profit Improvement).

Joseph Alford, BSChE ’66, received an International Society of Automation (ISA) “Standards and Practices” award at their 2009 national meeting, in recognition for outstanding contributions as a technical editor and co-author in the development of ANSI/ISA-18.2-2009, “Management of Alarm Systems for the Process Industries”, and for pioneering work in developing the first ISA standard on alarm management.

Donald F. Haas, BSChE ’67, will retire effective January 2010.

C. Locke Scripps, BSChE ’68, retired in 2008 after 20 years with Procter and Gamble and 20 years with Total SA. He is currently serving on the Board for the Carolinas Concert Association and the River Run Country Club.


Thomas L. Wood, BSChE ’70, retired from Valspar in 2007, started a consulting business in 2008, and joined National Capital as an Investment Banker in June 2009.

Michael Lappa, BSChE ’71, retired from the position of VP-Sales & Marketing for Potlatch Pulp & Paperboard in April, 2008, after a 37 year career in the Paper and Packaging industries. In April 2009, he founded Professional Transitions, a career transition services business for professionals needing assistance in career counseling, resume preparation and interview skills. He is also active in local volunteer work in the areas of economic development and education, and serves as a member of the Board of Directors for area non-profit organizations.

Mark G. White, MSChE ’73, retired from Mississippi State University after 32.5 years of service. His position before retiring was Director and Earnest W. Deavenport, Jr. Endowed Chair.

Thomas Maliszewski, BSChE ’73, was appointed Adjunct Professor in the School of Chemical Engineering at Purdue. He has been involved in the Senior Design Project for several years.

Abbie Griffin, BSChE ‘74, at the 2009 Product Development and Management Association (PDMA) International Conference was awarded the Crawford Fellow for her research contributions in the area of product innovation management. Professor Griffin holds the Royal L. Garff Presidential Chair in Marketing at the University of Utah’s David Eccles School of Business where she teaches business-to-business marketing and first year core marketing classes to MBA students.

Robert Diekman, BSChE ’75, retired in May 2009 after 34 years in the refining and chemicals industry. His last role was with BP as Manager, Aromatics Engineering.

Deborah L. Grubbe, BSChE ’77, has been named the Chair of the Institute for Sustainability of the AIChE. She has also been asked to serve as a member of the National Research Council’s Closure Committee for the Demilitarization of the US Chemical Weapons Stockpile.

Spencer A. Jeffries, BSChE ’79, retired in October 2009 after 11.5 years as a network engineer with B&V Technology in Houston. He previously worked 15.5 years for Jefferson/Texaco/Huntsman Chemical at the Conroe specialty chemical plant near Houston, TX.


Arindam Bose, PhD ’80, was elected a Fellow of the American Chemical Society in 2009.

William O. Carter, III, BSChE ‘80, was promoted to Process Manager at Anvil Corporation in Bellingham, WA in April 2009. He and Teri Carter (Nagel, BSChE ’81) have lived in Ferndale, WA for the past 12 years.

David Kenneth Jones, BSChE ’82, recently joined MBI as Senior VP after 24 years with Ashland Chemical. MBI is an Industrial Biotechnology organization working on new ways to make biofuels and biochemicals.

Brian E. Stutts, PhD ’83, was recently named Director of Process Engineering for Corning Incorporated. He has been with the company for 26 years. He is continuing to represent the company on the Engineering Education Industrial Advisory Board at Purdue.

Rock R. Kaiser, BSChE ’86, received Qualified Steam Specialist certification from Department of Energy in 2006. In 2009 he started Sustainable Steam & Water Solutions Inc. to provide energy and water system consulting services focused on energy, emission and water reduction projects to the food & beverage, manufacturing, and health care industries.

David Rockstraw, BSChE ’86, was elected to chair the Professional Engineers in Higher Education (PEHE) interest group for 2010-11. He is currently serving as the Chair Elect.

Rob Krantz, BSChE 87, was recently promoted to Director, Professional Services for Rockwell Software, a business unit of Rockwell Automation.

Chris Bowman, BSChE’88, received the Charles M. A. Stine Award, AIChE, 2009. He is the Associate Dean for Research and Patten Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering at University of Colorado.

Antonios Mikos , PhD ’88, received the ChE Lectureship Award, ASEE, 2009, and was elected Fellow, Biomedical Engineering Society. He is the J. W. Cox Professor of Chemical and Bioemolecular Engineering at Rice University.

Shawn Spera, BSChE ’89, was recently promoted to Global Product Manager within the STERIS Corporation, an International provider of contamination control and sterilization solutions for both Life Sciences industries and Healthcare markets.


Majella Sosa Doneza Stevenson, BSChE ’90, (Lt. Commander) completed successful deployment in the Middle East in February. She will retire from the US Navy in March 2010 after 20 years of service.

Kristi Anseth, BSChE ’92, received the Professional Progress Award, AIChE, 2009, and was elected to the Institute of Medicine. She is the Tisone Distinguished Professor, Associate Professor of Surgery, Chemical and Biological Engineering, University of Colorado.

Eric E. Brooks, BSChE ’92, earned Professional Engineer license in Indiana. He recently completed Boiler Room expansion project for the Dannon Company in Minster, OH.

Surya Mallapragada, PhD ’96, was elected Fellow, AAAS, and was honored with the Distinguished Service Award, FPB Division, AIChE, 2009. She is the Richard Stanley Chair in Interdisciplinary Engineering and Head, Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering, Iowa State University.


Roger Hoover, BSChE 2000, after working for 3 years at E*Trade Financial as a software architect on core infrastructure projects, he was the youngest engineer to be promoted to Principal Software Engineering. In 2007, he joined a mobile marketing startup, called Mozes, and built a scalable infrastructure in highly productive dynamic languages. In 2009, he was promoted to Director of Engineering.

Brad Taylor, PhD 2005, was awarded the 2009 ConocoPhillips Outstanding Young Scientist Award for his work on reducing the benzene content of gasoline.

Daniel Siderius, PhD 2007, completed a Postdoctoral Research Associateship at Washington University in St. Louis and has recently begun a fellowship hosted by NIST in Gaithersburg, MD where he will continue his computational chemistry and physics research.