Kelly Lecture Series

The Kelly Lecture

Arthur Kelly, an alumnus of the University, established the Kelly Fund at Purdue University in 1956. The income from this fund is used to bring outstanding scientists and engineers to the campus for lectures and discussions in the Department of Chemistry and the School of Chemical Engineering.

2015 Kelly Lecture

Prof. Nicholas A. Peppas
University of Texas


Multiresponsive Nanogels for the Delivery of Small Interfering RNA and Advanced Protein Therapeutic Agents

9:00 - 10:15 am, Tuesday, April 28, 2015, Room G140, Forney Hall

Intelligent Polymer Hydrogels: From Obscure Molecular Structures to Useful Multifunctional Systems

11:30 am - 12:30 pm, Wednesday, April 29, 2015, Room 3059, Forney Hall

2014 Kelly Lecture

Prof. Enrique Iglesia
Theodore Vermeulen Chair in Chemical Engineering at the University of California at Berkeley
Faculty Senior Scientist at the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory


Chemistry and Engineering Challenges in the Catalytic Conversion of C1 Molecules

9:00 - 10:15 am, Tuesday, April 15, 2014, Room G140, Forney Hall

Nanoparticles and Nanospaces: The Catalysis Toolbox

11:30 - 12:30 am, Wednesday, April 16, 2014, Room G140, Forney Hall

2013 Kelly Lecture

Prof. Michael F. Doherty
Dept. of Chemical Engineering
University of California, Santa Barbara


Rapid Process Design: Sorting the Wheat from the Chaff

9:00 - 10:20 pm, Tuesday, April 16, 2013, Room G140, Forney Hall

Crystals are like People: Growth and Defects and What Make Them Interesting

9:00 - 10:20 pm, Wednesday, April 17, 2013, Room G140, Forney Hall


2012 Kelly Lecture

Dr. James Dumesic
Dept. of Chemical and Biological Engineering
University of Wisconsin – Madison


Strategies for Catalytic Conversion of Biomass to Hydrogen and Liquid Hydrocarbon Fuels

9:00 - 10:15 AM, Tuesday, April 10, 2012, Room G140, Forney Hall

Delivery of Molecular and Nanomedicine in Tumors

11:30 AM - 12:30 PM, Wednesday, April 11, 2012, Room 3059, Forney Hall

Previous Kelly Lectures in Chemical Engineering

2012   James Dumesic
2011   Stanley I. Sandler
2010   Rakesh Jain
2009   Carol K. Hall
2008   Pablo Debenedetti
2007   Manfred Morari
2006   Frances H. Arnold
2005   Special Symposium
Celebrating 40 years
Frank S. Bates
Alexis T. Bell
Ignacio E. Grossmann
Michael L. Shuler
James Wei  
2004   William B. Russel
2003   Gregory Stephanopoulos
2002   Mark E. Davis
2001   Gerhard Ertl
2000   Robert A. Brown
1999   George Stephanopoulos
1998   Matthew Tirrell
1997   Lanny D. Schmidt
1996   John H. Seinfeld
1995   Doulgas A. Lauffenburger
1994   W. Harmon Ray
1993   Arthur W. Westerberg
1992   Robert S. Langer
1991   Reuel Shinnar
1990   H. Ted Davis
1989   E.N. Lightfoot
1988   Edward L. Cussler
1987   Morton M. Denn
1986   Alan S. Michaels
1985   Benjamin G. Levich
1984   Wolfgang M.H. Sachtler
1983   Thomas J. Hanratty
1982   William R. Schowalter
1981   Neal R. Amundson
1980   Paul J. Flory
1979   Warren E. Stewart
1978   James J. Carberry
1977   Rutherford Aris
1976   Arthur E. Humphery
1975   Michel Boudart
1974   John M. Prausnitz
1973   Andreas Acrivos
1972   Robert L. Pigford
1971   Charles N. Satterfield
1970   L.E. Scriven
1969   C. Judson King
1968   R. Byron Bird
1966   Arthur B. Metzner
1965   Warren L. McCabe