Prof. Hassanein receives the 2013 IEEE prestigious Merit Award

Polek Prof. Hassanein is the recipient of the prestigious 2013 IEEE Merit Award, the highest technical achievement award of the Nuclear and Plasma Science Society. This award recognizes outstanding technical contributions to the fields of nuclear and plasma science. The citation reads: “For seminal contributions and leadership in the field of plasma evolution and sources through development of advanced computer simulation combined with state-of-the art innovative laboratory experiments”. This prestigious award is given annually to only one outstanding scientist with competition among all the eight different sections of the IEEE-NPSS, which includes Computer Applications in Nuclear & Plasma Science, Fusion Technology, Medical Imaging, Pulsed Power, Particle Accelerator Science & Technology, Plasma Science & Application, Radiation Effects, and Radiation Instrumentation Sections.

Prof. Hassanein is currently the Paul L. Wattelet Professor & Head of the School of Nuclear Engineering and the Creator and Director of the Center for Materials Under eXtreme Environment (CMUXE) at Purdue. He has extensive research activities in several areas of plasma physics applications, including magnetic and inertial fusion, laser and discharge produced plasmas, nuclear detection, directed energy lethality, surface modification of materials, and next generation nanolithography. He was also the General Chair of the 38th IEEE International Conference on Plasma Science (ICOPS-2011) in Chicago, USA.

Prof. Hassanein is the author of about 500 journal publications and technical reports in more than 30 different national and international journals in physics, engineering, materials, and computer science.  He is a Fellow of the IEEE for contributions to modeling and simulation of fusion, laser, and discharge-produced plasmas, a Fellow of the Society of Optics and Photonics (SPIE) for development of EUV sources for advanced lithography, a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) for contributions to areas of interactions of energetic beams and plasmas with materials, and a Fellow of American Nuclear Society (ANS) for advancement of nuclear science and technology.