C. Douglas Sutton

Professor Emeritus

Purdue University
Lyles School of Civil Engineering
550 Stadium Mall Drive
West Lafayette, IN 47907-2051

Office: BOWN 1038


Specialty Area(s)

Ph.D., Purdue University, 1972
M.S.C.E., Purdue University, 1960
B.S.C.E., University of Maine, 1957

Research Interests
Reinforced and prestressed concrete structures, structural analysis, experimental analysis and physical models.

Honors & Awards

2009 Medal of Honor, Precast/Prestressed Concrete Institute. Recipients of this, the Institute's highest award, are recognized for outstanding career contributions to the precast/prestressed industry and the Institute. (Twenty-two recipients since PCI's founding in 1954).
2007 College of Engineering Faculty Award of Excellence - Advising. Awarded annually to a faculty member for outstanding contributions to shaping the academic and professional careers of engineering students. Recipients are selected by the Engineering Awards Committee from a listing of nominees submitted by all schools in the college.
2004 Titan of the Precast/Prestressed Concrete Industry. Precast/Prestressed Concrete Institute recognizes outstanding contributions to the industry for prominence in industry, innovation and change; for positive leadership in industry-altering development and expansion; and for advancing and accelerating the growth of the North American Precast and Prestressed concrete industry.
2004 & 2000 Ross Judson Buck '07 Memorial Award. This award is given to a CE faculty member who shows excellence in counseling undergraduates including advising students on curriculum, educational and career challenges, shares and is dedicated with student organizations/activities. School of Civil Engineering, Purdue Univeristy.
2003 Roy E. and Myrna Wansik Teaching Award. This award is presented annually to a civil engineering faculty member for outstanding teaching of civil engineering core courses. School of Civil Engineering, Purdue Univeristy.
2001 Chapter Honor Member, Purdue Chapter of Chi Epsilon Selected by vote of the active members of the Purdue chapter of the national civil engineering honorary society based on outstanding civil engineering career accomplishments.
2001 Fellow, Purdue University Teaching Academy. Membership comprises faculty members who have received major campus teaching awards.
2001 Charles B. Murphy Award. Purdue's premier teaching award. Five or six candidates are selected each year by a committee with representation from all academic disciplines of the campus community.
2000 Dean A. A. Potter Award. Awarded annually to the most outstanding teacher in the College of Engineering. This award honors exemplary undergraduate teaching in all phases of the College of Engineering program on the West Lafayette campus. Recipients are selected by the Engineering Awards Committee from a listing of nominees submitted by all schools in the college.
2000, 1994, 1990, 1980 Harold R. Munson Teaching Award. This award voted upon by the students for the faculty who exemplify clarity of presentation of subject material, create student interest, relating engineering theory and practice, intellectually challenge the students and develops logical approaches and critical evaluation.
1997 Fellow, Precast/Prestressed Concrete Institute. This award, created to honor members for outstanding contributions to the precast/prestressed concrete industry and to PCI.
1997 Distinguished Educator Award. Precast/Prestressed Concrete Institute. Presented annually to a distinguished educator in the field of engineering, architecture, and construction technology who has made significant contributions to the precast, prestressed concrete industry.
1997 Edmund M. Burke Outstanding Civil Engineering Professor Award. This award is given to a CE faculty member who counsels a large number of students who are involved in the Co-op program, CEM program and overall course-scheduling for the School; administer and aid in student activities and leadership roles in these programs.
1997 Certificate of Merit Award. Precast/Prestressed Concrete Institute presents this award to members of the PCI Technical Activities Council and the PCI Committee on Building code for their contributions to the industry benchmark publications entitled "PCI Standard Design Practice," jointly authored be these two bodies (Section B., Item 1.c.1).