Skip navigation

2017 March ABeNotes

2017 March Faculty News

Professor Jenna Rickus and the research team Implantable Networks of Wireless Nanoelectric Nodes will receive the 2017 College of Engineering Faculty Award of Excellence Team Award at the Engineering Faculty Awards of Excellence Banquet on April 7. Congratulations to Dr. Rickus and the rest of the team!

Professor Klein Ileleji received The Andersons Cereal and Oilseeds Award of Excellence. Given to individuals  "whose work has significantly contributed to improvements in science, innovation, technology implementation, policy formation, and/or education related to quality of cereals and oilseeds from processing to consumption, and who show outstanding promise of continuing those contributions into the future." Previous ABE recipients: Dr. Richard Stroshine in 2005 and Dr. Dirk Maier in 2007. Dr. Ambrose Kingsly (left) received the award on Dr. Ileleji's behalf as he was unable to attend.




Dr. Margaret Gitau is the recipient of the 2017 College of Engineering's Graduate Mentor Award for ABE (one professor is recognized in each engineering department per year) for her selfless dedication toward mentoring her graduate students. GSA will be putting on a lunch on April 13th in ABE301 to recognize this achievement and give grad students the opportunity to discuss and hear from Dr. Gitau on how she has developed her mentorship skills. What makes her an outstanding mentor? According to her students:

"Dr. Gitau is awarded for her efforts to help her students develop critical thinking skills, deepen their knowledge, and broaden their competency, while guiding them toward intellectual and professional independence in research. Through her guiding pillars of commitment, integrity, adaptability, passion, and resilience she enables student's to enhance their communication and problem-solving skills in academic atmosphere."

ABEGSA would like to congratulate Dr. Gitau on this great achievement!

2017 March Graduate Student News

Jingqiu Chen and Sushant Mehan, students of Dr. Margaret W. Gitau, and Samaneh Saadat, student of Dr. Jane Frankenberger, have been awarded the Bilsland Dissertation fellowship for the academic year starting from Fall 2017 till August 2018. This dissertation fellowship provides support to outstanding Ph.D. candidates in their final year of doctoral degree completion. The fellows are expected to devote full-time effort to the completion of all doctoral degree requirements at the conclusion of the fellowship tenure.

Congratulations to Jingqiu,Sushant, and Samaneh!

Jingqiu Chen, Ph.D. Candidate, also welcomed a healthy and sweet baby boy on March 6, 2017. Congratulations to Jingqiu and her family from the ABE family.

2017 March Maha Fluid Power Research Center News

Maha Graduates

On February 6th, Jeremy Beale held his master’s thesis defense, in which he presented his work on the modeling and design of the slipper-swashplate tribological interface of axial piston machines. Among his contributions are adding the effects of piston-slipper ball joint friction to the existing multi-physics simulation tool being developed at the Maha Fluid Power Research Center for modeling the lubricating interfaces of axial piston units, and developing a tool for optimizing the surface shaping of the slipper land for a given slipper. Congratulations Jeremy!

Maha Awards

Maha Fluid Power Research Center is proud to announce that its director, Dr. Ivantysynova, has been selected as Honorary Doctor in Technology by the Lappeenranta University of Technology (LUT). She was chosen as one of only fourteen individuals to receive this honor at the 6th Ceremonial Conferment of Doctoral Degrees at Lappeenranta University of Technology this June― more information on the honor and all of its recipients can be found under: Congratulations Dr. Ivantysynova!

Maha New Faces

The Maha Fluid Power Research Center would like to welcome Ashkan Darbani, who will work to predict wear-in profiles of pistons in axial piston machines under the supervision of Dr. Ivantysynova.

Contact Us

Send your thoughts on what you’d like to see in this e-newsletter to Purdue ABE at