News & Events


Marshall Porterfield featured on NPR's "All Things Considered"
Apr 16, 2014
Professor Marshall Porterfield was the featured expert for a story about plant growth in space. See item number 12.
Student Soybean Project Innovation Contest Winners
Apr 08, 2014
Two sophomore Agricultural Engineering students are part of the runner-up team in this year's contest!
Monika Ivantysynova awarded SAE Fellow
Apr 07, 2014
Dr. Monika Ivantysynova, founder of the Maha Fluid Power Research Center at Purdue, has been named a fellow of SAE International.
Purdue ABE Graduate Program ranked #1 by US News and World Report - for the 6th Consecutive Year
Mar 11, 2014
We are honored to be named the #1 ABE grad program for the 6th consecutive year. The work we do here matters and our students make the difference.
Dr. Joseph Irudayaraj elected to the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering College of Fellows
Feb 07, 2014
Founded in 1991, AIMBE serves to advocate on issues impacting the medical and biological engineering community. Throughout AIMBE's history, we have been a driving force in the advancement and innovations in the medical and biological engineering community.
Dr. Rabi Mohtar receives Distinguished Alumni Award from Faculty of Agricultural and Food Sciences (FAFS) American University Beirut
Jan 17, 2014
This award was established in 2002 on the occasion of the 50th Anniversary of the FAFS. It is the highest honor given to an alumnus by the FAFS Agriculture Chapter of the Association in cooperation with the Faculty.
Michael Ladisch named Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors
Dec 11, 2013
The National Academy of Inventors was founded in 2010 to recognize researchers at universities and non-profit institutes who translate their research findings into inventions that may benefit society.
David Umulis inducted into Purdue University Teaching Academy
Dec 11, 2013
Okos Inducted into the Purdue Book of Great Teachers
Nov 22, 2013
The Book of Great Teachers, a permanent wall display in the west foyer of the Purdue Memorial Union, is an extension of Academy Park. It was dedicated in 1999. Since 1997, more than 200 faculty and instructors have been recognized and inducted into the Teaching Academy
ABE Faculty honored at PRF 9th Annual Inventors Recognition Reception
Nov 21, 2013
ABE Faculty were among the 54 honored at the event Wednesday, November 20.
Dr. Jane Frankenberger receives PUCESA Mid-Career Award
Nov 07, 2013
The Purdue Cooperative Extension Specialists Association awarded the Mid-Career Award to Dr. Jane Frankenberger at their banquet last night.
Dr. Tsao to be honored by the Society for Commercial Development of Industrial Biotechnology
Nov 04, 2013
Dr. George Tsao, Professor Emeritus of Chemical Engineering will be honored for his "leadership and early contributions to 21st century industrial biotechnology."
Johann (Joe) Garwood (BS AGE '78) to be honored as Distinguished Agriculture Alumni
Oct 25, 2013
Agricultural & Biological Engineering proudly announces that our alumnus, Joe Garwood, has been selected to receive the Distinguished Agriculture Alumni Award on March 7, 2014
President Daniels to join ABE in Celebrating Three-Peat for Undergraduate Program
Oct 23, 2013
Purdue University President Mitch Daniels will join the department of Agricultural and Biological Engineering on November 6 to celebrate the third consecutive honoring of the undergraduate program by US News & World Report
Purdue iGEM team places third in North American Regional Jamboree
Oct 09, 2013
Just one year after placing for the first time, the Purdue Biomakers bested some of the top universities in the nation.
Three-Peat for ABE Undergrad Programs!
Sep 25, 2013
For the third consecutive year, the ABE undergraduate program has been ranked #1 by US News and World Report
Dennis Buckmaster receives David C. Pfendler Outstanding Counselor Award
Apr 29, 2013
Four ABE Faculty named 2012-13 Entrepreneurial Leadership Academy Fellows: Joseph Irudayaraj, John Lumkes, Mark Morgan, Jenna Rickus
Apr 29, 2013

Past Spotlights


ABE Alumni & Friends Breakfast to be held at ASABE Meeting in July
Apr 09, 2014
Capstone Experience 2014
Apr 24, 2014
Our seniors will present their Capstone Projects Thursday afternoon, April 24, 2014, from 1:30 until 3:30 pm at the ADM Agricultural Innovation Center.

Past Events

ABE in the News

Purdue Agriculture News: Evan Anderson - Purdue students show how to innovate with soybeans
Mar 28, 2014
Ian Hahus, Deanna Esposito, Necla Mine Eren: Purdue department offers diverse career paths (AgriNews)
Mar 12, 2014
Adam Sills: Student puts passion for agriculture at forefront (AgriNews)
Mar 12, 2014
Chad Martin, renewable energy extension specialist: Local Purdue Club to host renewable energy program
Mar 12, 2014
AgriNews: Purdue department offers diverse career paths
Mar 05, 2014
Nadia Gkritza: Purdue Engineering Impact online - New College of Engineering faculty
Dec 03, 2013
Alumnus Joe Garwood: Purdue grads share tales of entrepreneurial success (AgriNews)
Nov 25, 2013
Maha Lab Manager Anthony Franklin: Momentum Maker
Nov 01, 2013
Grain Rescue Instructor Steve Wettschurack: Ready to rescue (Kokomo Tribune)
Oct 02, 2013
Professor John Lumkes: Expo to highlight learning, service through Global Design Team
Sep 30, 2013
Purdue News: Professor Monika Ivantysynova - "New steering tech for heavy equipment saves fuel, ups efficiency"
Sep 26, 2013
Prairie Farmer: Professor Bill Field - "Does Indiana Really Have More Grain Entrapment Deaths Than Any Other State?"
Sep 24, 2013
AgWeb: Alumni Dewey Mann
Sep 23, 2013
AgConnections: Purdue Ag Honors Outstanding Students (Sarah Cox, ABE freshman)
Aug 23, 2013
Steve Swain featured on
Aug 20, 2013
Professor Gary Krutz and Brittany Newell: Purdue/Industry Partnership Newsletter Summer 2013
Aug 08, 2013
Professor Kevin Keener, PhD Student Louis Nelson III: Radiant fried chicken patties versus traditional - split decision
Aug 01, 2013
Inside Indiana Business: Top-Rated Program Puts Purdue at Tech Intersection
May 01, 2013
DriftWatchTM: FieldWatch created to support growing demand
Apr 02, 2013
AWRA: Margaret Kalcic named poster presentation winner at the 2013 Spring Specialty Conference on Agricultural Hydrology and Water Quality II
Apr 01, 2013

Past ABE in the News