Professor Kathleen Howell Named Recipient of the 2014 Outstanding Undergraduate Murphy Teaching Award

Event Date: March 25, 2014
Kathleen Howell, the Hsu Lo Distinguished Professor of Aeronautical and Astronautical Engineering Named Recipient of The 2014 Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Awards in Memory of Charles B. Murphy

Congratulations to Kathleen Howell, the Hsu Lo Distinguished Professor of Aeronautical and Astronautical Engineering, who has been named a recipient of the 2014 Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Awards in Memory of Charles B. Murphy.

Professor Kathleen Howell is one of five out of Purdue's about 1,800 professors to receive this prestigious Award. This award is Purdue's highest honor to recognize exceptional teaching at the undergraduate level by a faculty member.  Professor Howell was informed of this honor on Monday March 24th via a surprise visit from the provost's office while she was teaching AAE 440. 

Professor Howell has been a member of the faculty at Purdue since 1982. She received her B.S. in Aerospace Engineering from Iowa State University in 1973. Her M.S. (1977) and Ph.D. (1983) degrees in Aeronautical and Astronautical Sciences are from the Department of Aeronautics and Astronautics in the School of Engineering at Stanford University.

Professor Howell maintains an active research program that includes spacecraft trajectory design and optimization to support active and planned missions within the Earth-Moon region as well as interplanetary science and exploration scenarios. Her investigations also include maneuver strategies for transfers and on-orbit operations.

Professor Howell teaches both undergraduate and graduate courses at Purdue and has been recognized with numerous national and local awards for excellence as an engineering educator including:

  •     AIAA Fellow 2013
  •     W.A. Gustafson Award for Outstanding Teaching 2012
  •     Inducted into Iowa State University Department of Aerospace 'Engineering Hall of Fame 2011
  •     A.A. Potter Best Teacher in Engineering Award, Purdue University, 1984 and 2011
  •     Elmer F. Bruhn Teaching Award for the School of Aeronautics and Astronautics 1984, 1987, 1990, 1995, 2002, 2005, 2010
  •     College of Engineering Leadership Award 2010, Purdue University
  •     Fellow, American Astronautical Society (AAS)
  •     American Astronautical Society (AAS)  "President's Recognition Award": For Technical Achievement and Contributions to the Society and the Profession, August 2007
  •     John V. Breakwell Memorial Award, International Astronautical Federation, IAC Astrodynamics Symposium, IAF World Congress, Hyderabad, India, 2007
  •     Dirk Brouwer Award, AAS, 2004
  •     Named as one of '50 Most Important Women in Science' by Discover Magazine, Nov. 2002
  •     ‘Best-Paper Award’ at three AAS/AIAA conferences
  •     TRIANA Mission Achievement Award, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, 2002
  •     Presidential Young Investigator Award 1984, presented by Ronald Reagan

Currently, the Editor-in-Chief of the AAS Journal of the Astronautical Sciences, she has previously served as Managing Editor for the journal. She has been a member of the AIAA Astrodynamics Technical Committee. She is currently a member of the Astrodynamics Committee of the International Astronautical Federation and the AAS Space Flight Mechanics Technical Committee and serves on various Purdue University and College of Engineering Committees. 

Dr. Kathleen Howell’s Research Page

Charles B. Murphy was a history professor at Purdue from 1927 to 1970 and previous recipients of this award are named here.