Faculty Recognition

Congratulations to Professor Bill Crossley and Professor Stephen Heister, Raisbeck Engineering Distinguished Professor for Engineering and Technology Integration and Director, Maurice J. Zucrow Laboratories, who were honored on December 2 when they were inducted into The Great Book of Teachers.

The Book of Great Teachers is a permanent display in the west foyer of the Purdue Memorial Union. It was dedicated on April 23, 1999. The book bears the names of 316 faculty members, past and present, who have devoted their lives to excellence in teaching and scholarship. They were chosen by their students and their peers as Purdue's finest educators. The induction process takes place once every five years.

Past AAE faculty who have received this honor include:

  • Professor Elmer F. Bruhn
  • Professor Steven H. Collicott
  • Professor Emeritus W.A. Gustafson
  • Professor Kathleen C. Howell
  • Professor Severino L. Koh
  • Professor James M. Longuski
  • Professor Paul S. Lykoudis
  • Professor C.T. Sun
  • Professor Henry T. Yang


Congratulations to Professor Michael Grant who is the winner of the prestigious 2013 W.A. Gustafson Award for Outstanding Teaching. As winner of this award, Professor Grant will be AAE's nominee to the university-wide Murphy Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Award.

The following five faculty members were also nominated and received the next five highest votes:  Professors Mike Sangid, Alina Alexeenko, Karen Marais, Sally Bane, and Jim Longuski. 

The recipient of this award is selected by the juniors and seniors of the AAE student body. It is made possible by the interest and generosity of friends and alumni of the school.

Professor Grant received his Ph.D. from Georgia Institute of Technology in 2012 and joined the school as Assistant Professor in 2012. His area of interests include Systems Engineering, Hypersonic Aerodynamics, Guidance Design, Trajectory Optimization, Multidisciplinary Design Optimization and Mission Design.

The School of Aeronautics and Astronautics congratulates him on this honor and thanks him for his continued excellence and honor that he brings to our school.

Past winners of the W.A. Gustafson Award for Outstanding Teaching

  • Kathleen Howell (2012)
  • Arthur E. Frazho   (2011)
  • James M. Longuski   (2010)
  • Martin J. Corless   (2009)
  • Dominick Andrisani   (2007)
  • Arthur E. Frazho   (2006)
  • James M. Longuski   (2005)
  • Marc H. Williams   (2004)
  • Martin J. Corless   (2003)
  • Anastasios S. Lyrintzis   (2002)
  • William A. Crossley   (2001)
  • James M. Longuski   (2000)
  • William A. Crossley   (1999)
  • William A. Crossley   (1998)
  • Gregory A. Blaisdell   (1997)