Prof. Tasos Lyrintzis to Chair Aero Program at Embry-Riddle

Tasos Lyrintizis
Professor Tasos Lyrintzis, Associate Head of the Graduate Program, will become the Chair of the Department of Aerospace Engineering at the Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University in Florida, effective Jan. 2012.

Dr. Lyrintzis joined Purdue in 1994 after serving seven years on the faculties of the University of Minnesota, Cornell, and Syracuse. Dr. Lyrintzis has been a graduate chair of Purdue’s School of Aeronautics and Astronautics since fall of 2003.  During that time there has been a significant growth of the number and the quality of the graduate students and there has been also a substantial increase in the women and minority enrollments.  He is the Director of Purdue’s Computational Science and Engineering (CSE) interdisciplinary program. His research interests are Computational Aeroacoustics and Aerodynamics for rotorcraft and jet flows

Dr. Lyrintzis has garnered many awards and major appointments:

  • C.T. Sun Research Award, School of Aeronautics and Astronautics, Purdue University, 2010
  • Coordinated all activities in the inaugural external assessment of graduate programs including preparing the School’s report (March 2010)
  • Purdue’s College of Engineering Leadership Award (April 2007)
  • Purdue University Faculty Scholar (Fall 2004)
  • Gustafson Award – School of Aeronautics and Astronautics Best Teacher (2003)
  • NASA Group Achievement Award Tiltrotor Aeroacoustics Code (TRAC) system development team (A. Lyrintzis was a member of the team) (July 2002)
  • American Helicopter Society, Howard Hughes Award (given in recognition of outstanding improvement in fundamental helicopter technology) (June 2002). NASA Tiltrotor Aeroacoustics Code (TRAC) system development team (A. Lyrintzis was a member of the team) (June 2002)
  • American Helicopter Society, Best paper in Acoustics Sessions of 51st Annual Forum (1995).
  • ASME Fellow (March 2003)
  • Boeing Welliver Fellow (Summer 1998)
  • AIAA Associate Fellow (Sept. 1996)
  • Registered Professional Engineer (January 1991)
  • G. Vollmer (1983-84,-85) and R. Purcell (1986) Scholarships, awarded to qualified international students from Cornell University.
  • Onassis Fellowship (1982-1984).
  • Technical Chamber of Greece Prize for ranking first in Mechanical Engineering (1981).
  • National (Greek) Scholarship Foundation (IKY) Honorary Scholarship for outstanding performance (1977-81).

Technical Committees

  • AIAA Aeroacoustics Committee (1994-97, 2001-present)
  • AHS Acoustics Committee (1993-96)
  • ASME Coordinating Group on Computational Fluid Dynamics (1991-2000)

Membership in Professional Societies

  • AIAA (American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics) Associate Fellow
  • ASME (American Society of Mechanical Engineers) Fellow
  • AHS (American Helicopter Society)
  • ASEE (American Society for Engineering Education)
  • Technical Chamber of Greece
  • Greek Society of Professional Mechanical & Electrical Engineers
  • Sigma Xi, the Scientific Research Society

Dr. Lyrintzis and has served our school, college, and university in the most exemplary manner.  He is a caring teacher, an outstanding researcher, and a wonderful colleague and we wish him well in his new life.