Professor Kathleen Howell Garners Awards.

Professor Kathleen Howell has been awarded the Elmer F. Bruhn Teaching Award 2010 and the College of Engineering Faculty Award of Excellence.

Elmer F. Bruhn Teaching Award 2010

Professor Kathleen Howell is this year's winner of the Bruhn Award. Presented annually to an Outstanding Teacher in the School of Aeronautics and Astronautics, selected by the undergraduate student body for excellence in teaching and made possible by the interest and generosity of friends and alumni of the school. 

Other top candidates for the Bruhn Award were; Prof. Greg Blaisdell, Prof. Skip Grandt, Prof. Inseok Hwang, Prof. John Sullivan. Congratulations to all for this recognition of their teaching efforts.

Prof. Howell is now the school’s nominee for the engineering wide 2011 A.A. Potter Best Teacher Award.

College of Engineering Faculty Awards of Excellence

An annual series of excellence awards for faculty in the College of Engineering was established in the fall of 2002.  Nominated by Prof and Head of School Tom Shih, Prof. Kathleen Howell has been recognized with the Leadership Award for 2010.
The purpose of this award is to recognize excellence in faculty leadership that promotes a culture of improving the climate and environment for other faculty, staff, and students and that value and promotes diversity and inclusiveness in the College of Engineering. Congratulations to Prof Howell who was honored during the eighth annual recognition banquet on April 24, 2010.