Eleventh Annual Outstanding Aerospace Engineer Awards September 24, 2009

The Purdue University designation Outstanding Aerospace Engineer recognizes the professional contributions of graduates from the School of Aeronautics & Astronautics and thanks them for the recognition that their success brings to Purdue and the School.

Criteria for the Award state that recipients must have demonstrated excellence in industry, academia, governmental service, or other endeavors that reflect the value of an aerospace engineering degree. This celebration gives us a very special opportunity to have our students interact with the best possible role models.   

The Awards dinner and ceremony was held in the Shively Club in the Ross-Ade Stadium on September 24 with undergraduate’s Courtney McManus and Ben Weiss acting as Master of Ceremonies.
The 2009 OAE awardees’ are:
William H. Ailor III
PhD ‘74
Charlene Edinboro
BSAAE ’75, MSAAE ’76, PhD ‘02
Roy A. Eggink
Andrew M. King
MSME ’84, PhD ‘88
Thomas L. Maxwell
Suvendoo K. Ray
BSAAE ’83, MSAAE ’84, PhD ‘87
Dennis E. Warner
BSAAE ’73, MSME ‘76
John R. Wheadon Jr.
Photo from L ~ R Back row ~ Prof. Emeritus Gus Gustafson, Allen S. Novick BSAE’65, MSAE’67, PhD’72, OAE’06, DEA’06; Roy A. Eggink BSAAE’81 OAE '09; Dennis E. Warner BSAAE’73, MSME’76 OAE’09; Thomas L. Maxwell BSAAE’69 OAE’09; Prof. Tom Shih - Head of School of Aeronautics and Astronautics
Front row ~ Prof. Emeritus Larry Cargnino; John L. Rich BSAT’54, OAE’01; Andrew King MSME’84, PhD’88,  OAE’09; Charlene Edinboro BSAAE’75, MSAAE’76, PhD’02, OAE’09; Suvendoo K. Ray BSAAE’83, MSAAE’84, PhD’87, OAE’09; John R. Wheadon Jr. BSAAE’73, OAE’09; Prof Emeritus George Palmer; William H. Ailor III PhD’74, OAE’09

More photos of the even can be found on the School of Aeronautics and Astronautics web site:


Related Link: https://engineering.purdue.edu/AAE/AboutUs/Alumni/oae/2009/index_html