Astronaut Scholarship Foundation

Congratulations to Christine Linda Troy from Cincinnati, OH who has been awarded an Astronaut Scholarship Foundation award for 2007-2008. Christine is a senior in aeronautical and astronautical engineering. She has designed several new and useful computer tools, including a mission control console application to aid flight controllers during Space Shuttle ascent.

The Astronaut Scholarship Foundation was established originally as the Mercury Seven Foundation in 1984 by the six surviving members of the original Mercury Astronauts and Mrs. Betty Grissom, widow of the seventh, Purdue Graduate Gus Grissom, to foster space science education through scholarship awards. The founding astronauts were Malcolm Scott Carpenter, L. Gordon Cooper Jr., John H. Glenn Jr., Walter M. Schirra, the late Alan B. Shepard Jr. and the late Donald K. (Deke) Slayton. Currently, Apollo astronaut Al Worden is Chairman of the foundation's Board of Directors.

 The astronauts chose top students from across the country who exhibited exceptional performance, initiative and creativity in the science or engineering field of their major. While scholarship recipients must display intellectual daring, the committee also looks for well-rounded students who are involved in campus and community activities.

 Among the most prestigious national scholarships awarded for science and engineering students, the Astronaut Scholarship Foundation has disbursed nearly $2.5 million in scholarships to 226 students nationwide since its inception.

 The Astronaut Scholarship Foundation will host the a gala on May 2, celebrating the Class of 2008 U.S. Astronaut Hall of Fame. (see article above "Purdue graduates to be inducted into U.S. Astronaut Hall of Fame")