AAE Professor named to NASA Advisory Council

NASA Administrator Michael Griffin named nine new members to the NASA Advisory Council in September of 2006, including School of Aeronautics & Astronautics faculty member, Dr. John P. Sullivan.

The NASA Advisory Council (The Council) consists of six committees, Aeronautics, Audit and Finance, Exploration, Human Capital, Science, and Space Operations. It is an internal panel that provides advice to NASA administrator Mike Griffin. The advice focuses on the space agency's ongoing operations and plans. Dr. Sullivan's term on the council is for two years.

The Council Chairman is Harrison H. Schmitt who was NASA's first scientist astronaut to fly in space and explored the moon during the Apollo 17 mission.  "These outstanding individuals will add to an already strong group and will greatly assist Chairman Schmitt in meeting the Council's goals," Griffin said. "The charge of the Council and its six standing Committees is to provide me with the best advice possible in the many areas of NASA programs and activities."

Dr. Sullivan was named to the Aeronautics Committee chaired by Mr. Neil A. Armstrong, and served as head of Purdue's School of Aeronautics and Astronautics from 1993-98 and was director of the Aerospace Sciences Laboratory from 1983-95. He has an extensive record of academic publications and possesses industrial and consulting experience with NASA, Boeing Commercial Aircraft Co., the Office of Naval Research and General Electric Company.

He is also director of the Center for Advanced Manufacturing in Purdue's Discovery Park. Under his leadership the Center for Advanced Manufacturing has been active throughout the state helping Indiana industry advance in high technology production and products.